Author Topic: windows 8.1 fool (me)  (Read 1138 times)

Rahab

• Wayfarer
    • View Profile
windows 8.1 fool (me)
« on: January 31, 2015, 09:59:42 pm »
Greetings PS,

Ah, I am not sure how to explain or ask my question, but here goes.

I am NOT tech savvy any way.  I thought that I could try this RPG on my new laptop, a Dell w/ intel Core i7 processor (that's all I know about it at this point). I decided that I would try a free torrent app from the MS store (free version of Torrex).

I have no idea how to use torrent files ( No, I did not heed your warning). Meanwhile, after getting this app, I clicked on the 64-bit torrent download for windows. After about a half hour it apppeared to be done, and I found it in my downloads. Well, now to open the dang thing...and after some searching the net I think that I found out how to do that w/ some free download at file.org called Vuze.  I installed Vuze and then used it to open the PlaneShift torrent file...but, er, after I clicked install and saw the PlaneShift game screen, well, the screen went BLACK!

So, now the dilemma, of my own making, is that although I can restart my laptop and sign-in, the screen goes straight to black again. I can get to task manager, but it shows about fifty things running, and as I said in the beginning, I'm NOT tech savvy.  Not sure what to do to recover the use of my laptop.  I just wanted an RPG where I could "get away" from my incredibly stressful, real-life once in a while.  Ah well...

If anyone out there has pity on this fool, please respond here (at least I have my old Toshiba w/ windows 7 and some turtle-slow processor!).  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you and perhaps someday, I'll join the community in character?

C.

Roled

• Hydlaa Notable
    • View Profile
Re: windows 8.1 fool (me)
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2015, 10:31:35 pm »