Author Topic: valid reason for thieving  (Read 1276 times)

Deddarus

• Hydlaa Citizen
    • View Profile
valid reason for thieving
« on: February 16, 2004, 03:41:55 pm »
forgive me if this has been stated before but..

i used to work as a senior gm/developer for a popular free MMORPG server... one of the main problems we encountered was that people got too used to keeping their items, that is to say that to loose an item was considered very rare and unfair

this resulted in people valuing their items too much.. which then led to people getting rare items as status symbols.. they would wear them around town (there was no thieving at all on this server) to show off but if they were going somewhere dangerous (eg a dungeon) then the items (despite the fact that they were largely armour/weps) would be safely left in their bank boxes

the result of this was that players that had been ingame for a while accumulated vast hoards of rare items and then when they had everything got bored... it also meant that no-one sold their rare items and the value of them dropped (due to a continous in-flow through loot drops and none being lost from the world)

only solution without thieving was to make even better, even rarer items... thus de-valuing the original items further

i know that theiving wont remove items from the game but it would encourage people to expect to loose their items and therefore they would be more inclined to use them (if loosing an item is a generally excepted occurence that people are used to that is..)

there is nothing sadder than a rare, valuable and usefull item being left to fester in a box somewhere, imho.

dfryer

• Veteran
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2004, 06:50:47 pm »
Many people are defined by their possessions - they are symbols of the experiences that they\'ve had.

I think ordinary theiving would just get annoying, but a \"game event\" like a major bank robbery would be kind of fun.