Author Topic: Current Planeshift server architecture  (Read 1154 times)

virajithj

• Traveller
    • View Profile
Current Planeshift server architecture
« on: October 25, 2010, 12:55:58 pm »
Hi,

I am new to Planeshift and was looking at some of the documents at http://planeshift.ezpcusa.com/pswiki/index.php?title=Engine_Document_Downloads which give a great description of the Planeshift architecture. However, I had a couple of questions which are addressed in these documents. I was hoping someone here can help me out with the following questions:

a) The docs at http://planeshift.ezpcusa.com/pswiki/index.php?title=Engine_Document_Downloads mention that Planeshift used a single server architecture. Is this still true? Is the current version of Planeshift using multiple servers which communicate to inter-operate?

b) I came to understand that Planeshift uses a modified mysql database for persistence. Does the database have to be on the same (physical) machine as the server? Is it possible to configure/make minor modifications to the code which allows the database to be hosted on a machine different from the actual game server?

I really appreciate any help I can get regarding these issues.

Thanks a lot in advance,
Virajith

weltall

• Veteran
    • View Profile
    • http://weltall.heliohost.org
Re: Current Planeshift server architecture
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2010, 01:03:29 pm »
1) the server is split in the main an npcclient server. there can be more than one npcclient server. and they can be in separate machines (but they must be connected with fast connections)
2) no a standard mysql db. no it's not needed and it's how the internal private servers for development work. just edit the config file with the server ip.

Minks

• Hydlaa Citizen
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2010, 01:04:55 pm »
Hi there, maybe this is also interesting for you. :)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKSYJYV_RGs  

virajithj

• Traveller
    • View Profile