Author Topic: PlaneShift as a start into game programming?  (Read 787 times)

Starset

• Wayfarer
    • View Profile
PlaneShift as a start into game programming?
« on: February 06, 2017, 01:23:30 pm »
Hello there. I am a beginner user who studies c++ since some months.
I would like to study the game structure (mostly server-side) of MMORPGs, but I have no idea where to start.
Since I've found this open-source MMORPG I would like to study its structure.
The problem is that I have never worked with so many files (I've seen the code already).

What do you suggest? Can you give me some tips?
I would like to start with something small in the game (eg. editing the code for personal purposes [on my personal client]), what do you suggest?

Thank you,
Starset

steuben

• Veteran
    • View Profile
    • Myspace
Re: PlaneShift as a start into game programming?
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2017, 04:43:59 pm »
#planeshift-dev might be a good place to camp. but be aware it isn't going to be anything near real time.. or at least it wasn't when i was last through. i know there is additional documentation somewhere. i think some of it lays out the module interactions.

that all being said there is a major engine overhaul happening, so anytime you invest in the code now will have to be redone later. but the general outlines of the code probably won't change to much.
may laanx frighten the shadow from my path.
hardly because the shadow built the lexx.
the shadow will frighten laanx from my path.

Ravna

• Hydlaa Resident
  • Insane
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2017, 07:10:56 am »

just for the record, the developers channel is most certainly not the right place to go (restricted access).
the -build channel is a good place if you need help building the project (which would be pretty much a basic requirement if you want to play with the code).