Author Topic: PS launcher doesn't work  (Read 2306 times)

Jantaro

  • Traveller
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
PS launcher doesn't work
« on: February 20, 2010, 08:23:39 pm »
I'm using Fedora 12, and when I run the launcher from the terminal I get this:
Code: [Select]
WARNING: could not load plugin 'crystalspace.syntax.loader.service.text'
ERROR: Couldn't load plugin with class 'crystalspace.syntax.loader.service.text'!
WARNING: failed to initialize plugin 'crystalspace.graphics3d.shadercompiler.xmlshader'
WARNING: failed to initialize plugin 'crystalspace.graphics3d.shadercompiler.weaver'
WARNING: could not load plugin 'crystalspace.syntax.loader.service.text'
ERROR: Couldn't load plugin with class 'crystalspace.syntax.loader.service.text'!
WARNING: failed to initialize plugin 'crystalspace.graphics3d.shadercompiler.xmlshader'
WARNING: could not load plugin 'crystalspace.level.loader'
WARNING: could not load plugin 'crystalspace.level.loader'
WARNING: Can not load default shader vars, no iSyntaxService available
Opening GLX2D
Checking for updates to the updater: Creating Context
Video driver GL/X version (direct renderer)
Visual ID: 0x0000000000000024, 24bit TrueColor
R8:G8:B8:A8,
level 0, double buffered
WARNING: could not load plugin 'crystalspace.syntax.loader.service.text'
ERROR: Couldn't load plugin with class 'crystalspace.syntax.loader.service.text'!
NOTIFY: Applied: NVidia: GENERATE_MIPMAPS does not generate last level
NOTIFY: OpenGL renderer: GeForce 9800M GS/PCI/SSE2 (vendor: NVIDIA Corporation) version 3.2.0 NVIDIA 190.53
NOTIFY: Using windowed mode at resolution 1024x768.
NOTIFY: Pixel format: Color: 24 Alpha: 8 Depth: 24 Stencil: 8 AccumColor: 48 AccumAlpha: 16 MultiSamples: 0
NOTIFY: Multisample: disabled
NOTIFY: Using VBO with 64 MB of VBO memory
Default shader /shader/std_lighting.xml not available
Default shader /shader/std_lighting_portal.xml not available
WARNING: could not load plugin 'crystalspace.renderloop.step.generic.type'
Failed to load plugin crystalspace.renderloop.step.generic.type; pandemonium will ensue.
WARNING: could not load plugin 'crystalspace.rendermanager.unshadowed'
No rendermanager set!
Mounting skin: /planeshift/art/pslaunch.zip
Texture Manager parsing /paws/launcher/imagelist.xml
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, <src/common/paws/pawsimagedrawable.cpp:66 PreparePixmap SEVERE>
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, Could not open image: >/paws/base/maps/leather/top_left_1.png<
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, <src/common/paws/pawsimagedrawable.cpp:66 PreparePixmap SEVERE>
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, Could not open image: >/paws/base/maps/leather/top_right_1.png<
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, <src/common/paws/pawsimagedrawable.cpp:66 PreparePixmap SEVERE>
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, Could not open image: >/paws/base/maps/leather/bottom_left_1.png<
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, <src/common/paws/pawsimagedrawable.cpp:66 PreparePixmap SEVERE>
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, Could not open image: >/paws/base/maps/leather/bottom_right_1.png<
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, <src/common/paws/pawsimagedrawable.cpp:66 PreparePixmap SEVERE>
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, Could not open image: >/paws/base/maps/leather/left_1.png<
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, <src/common/paws/pawsimagedrawable.cpp:66 PreparePixmap SEVERE>
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, Could not open image: >/paws/base/maps/leather/right_1.png<
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, <src/common/paws/pawsimagedrawable.cpp:66 PreparePixmap SEVERE>
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, Could not open image: >/paws/base/maps/leather/top_1.png<
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, <src/common/paws/pawsimagedrawable.cpp:66 PreparePixmap SEVERE>
Sat Feb 20 20:14:46 2010, Could not open image: >/paws/base/maps/leather/bottom_1.png<
DEBUG: Initializing OpenAL sound system
DEBUG: Retrieving available devices.
DEBUG: Available OpenAL device: PulseAudio Software
DEBUG: Available OpenAL device: ALSA Software
DEBUG: Default OpenAL device: PulseAudio Software
DEBUG: No device specified
DEBUG: Falling back on default device
Segmentation fault
I'm at a loss as to what I should do; any ideas?

bilbous

  • Guest
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2010, 09:15:46 pm »
Either run the updater from the commandline
Code: [Select]
planeshift --console and the game as
Code: [Select]
/opt/PlaneShift/psclientor uninstall openal.  Of course if the game installed somewhere else you will have to change the latter to specifically refer to where it is installed.

Also you probably need to ensure that ~/.PlaneShift/planeshift.cfg has a line in it:
Code: [Select]
System.PlugIns.iSndSysRenderer = crystalspace.sndsys.renderer.software  where the last term is either software or null and not openal.

Jantaro

  • Traveller
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 09:30:20 pm »
I know that I tried those first two: running the updater did seem to update it (there was a loading bar at least) but then it gave me the same errors, and I tried running the client, and it segfaulted.
Changing the end of that line to software or null didn't change anything either.
Running the console thing for the second time said that the "Local config and server config are incompatible!", and that I should repair it. How would I go about that?
Thanks for the help.

bilbous

  • Guest
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2010, 10:53:52 pm »
hmm did you have a previous version (.4) installed? If so you need to completely uninstall it. I'm pretty sure you can save your log files and shortcuts but not positive.
You could also try running planeshift --repair but make sure your updaterinfo.xml looks something like this:
Code: [Select]
<config>
    <mirrors>
        <mirror id="1" name="xordan" url="http://testing.xordan.com/" />
        <mirror id="2" name="clevertech" url="http://planeshift.clevertech.net/Updates/" />
    </mirrors>
    <updater version="2.3" md5win32="f6eeb8b45ced29b557fdc2f3b949270f" md5linux32="b6bd870603804d6595d1e258dd9367b9" md5linux64="003a73e695ecd78076926791604c55aa" md5macosx="70c85d6f87de1027f8bb71066545b8cc" md5win64="5ba8ab349fb329ff190e6305ed343aac" />
    <client>
        <version name="0.5.1.3" md5win32="a3321bd349dfba780b59f5520be82bf1" md5linux32="eada7f518ebef7ae4a704d9a18ffefbd" md5linux64="dd590e743a216e440fcdea7e5ad68e6a" md5macosx="2969583b0a474f1e75b402bedb03e5f5" md5win64="7bc5250ad2b944f25a0074eeb78ca909" md5generic="c22becfa1caec9381ede7b4d8c3b50cc" />
    </client>
</config>
Well at least you want the mirrors fields to point to those servers, I wouldn't much with whatever else is in there as it will update from the mirror.

Let me stress though that you might want to wait to hear from someone else as I have not had this problem myself and you follow this advice at your own risk. The openal thing I have had in several other versions of linux but the last fedora I have run here was either 8 or 9 and I haven't seen that incompatible message myself.


By the way, if you uninstalled openal then the launcher should work and it would likely prompt you to do the repair. I can't guarantee that either though. I do know that the configuration files that come with .5 are not all compatible with the previous version and the installer makes no attempt to clean up the old ones so if you did have .4 installed it is likely the problem.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 11:01:57 pm by bilbous »

Jantaro

  • Traveller
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2010, 12:29:20 am »
Thanks for the help. I'm in fact still running the repair thing, and it's taking quite a while for the .zip files to download, so I will most likely return tomorrow with some information. Hopefully this will work.

Okay, the updater finished and nothing seems to have changed. Also when you talk about .5 and .4, are you referring to planeshift or openal?
Nvm, I'm dumb. I'm almost entirely certain that I have .5 of PS.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2010, 11:51:21 am by Jantaro »

Jantaro

  • Traveller
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2010, 03:28:03 pm »
Okay, this is weird. I ran planeshift --console again on a whim, and it did in fact update something, but it gave me those errors again. I decided, for no real reason, to do the console again. It gave me a loading bar and then this:

Code: [Select]
Patching file art/materials.zip: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!
Patching file art/meshes.zip: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!
Patching file art/soundlib.xml: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!
Patching file art/world.zip: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!
Patching file data/gui/bankwindow.xml: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!
Patching file data/gui/gmaddeditaction.xml: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!
Patching file data/gui/guildwindow.xml: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!
Patching file data/help.xml: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!
Patching file data/options/controls_def.xml: Done!
Checking for correct md5sum: Success!

So I decided to try running /opt/PlaneShift/pslaunch again, and I simply got this single error:

Code: [Select]
./pslaunch.bin: error while loading shared libraries: libssl.so.0.9.8: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

What the heck happened? Is that better or worse than what I had?

For the record, this appears when I run the repair or the console. I think I might have broken it.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2010, 04:03:44 pm by Jantaro »

Sen

  • Hydlaa Notable
  • *
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2010, 04:24:43 pm »
Hi

you should not use the updater right now (There is a topic about that somewhere here...) - the server was updated and the new client should be released soon.
About the last error message: Try to install the ssl development package.
Once the client works again you can check if you are now already on 0.5.2.

Sen
.....also a saddle that won't pinch the tail. One day!

Xordan

  • Crystal Space Developer
  • Forum Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3845
  • For God and the Empire
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2010, 04:25:39 pm »
hmm, looks like libssl just became a dependency of pslaunch... a bit odd. Might be because we just started using a new http transfer lib.
You can try installing libssl from your package manager, I'll see if I can ship with libssl in future.

Edit: You can also try deleting libcurl.so.4 from the libs/ folder.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2010, 04:29:00 pm by Xordan »

Jantaro

  • Traveller
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2010, 04:32:26 pm »
I couldn't find anything called "libssl", but I apparently have openssl and openssl-devel installed. Looking through my package manager, I see a ton of various ssl packages designed for different protocols or whatever, do you think I'd need a specific one?

Lanarel

  • Testers
  • Hydlaa Notable
  • *
  • Posts: 782
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2010, 04:32:44 pm »
When building on windows I had to download curl from somewhere. There are versions with and without SSL. I guess this one is with.

Sen

  • Hydlaa Notable
  • *
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2010, 04:40:28 pm »
What version is your openssl? I wonder if there is any libssl.so.xxxxx on your system.

Sen
.....also a saddle that won't pinch the tail. One day!

Jantaro

  • Traveller
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: February 21, 2010, 04:44:09 pm »
The entire name is "openssl-1.0.0.0.13.beta4.fc12.x86_64".

Sen

  • Hydlaa Notable
  • *
  • Posts: 746
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: February 21, 2010, 05:18:41 pm »
So I assume somewhere on your system (possibly in /lib) is a file called libssl.so.1.0.0 or something like that. I personally would then do just a "ln -s libssl.so.1.0.0 libssl.so.0.9.8" in the right directory. For me it looks like your openssl is newer than what the client expects.
I hope that helps.

Sen
.....also a saddle that won't pinch the tail. One day!

Jantaro

  • Traveller
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: February 21, 2010, 05:37:04 pm »
Thanks; what would you consider to be the "right directory", the one that libssl.so.1.0.0 is in? I found it in /usr/lib64. Are you just saying that I should make a symbolic link to it so that the client will get the same data, just under a different name?

Earowo

  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 1463
    • View Profile
    • Guild Site
Re: PS launcher doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2010, 06:20:37 pm »
Hi

you should not use the updater right now (There is a topic about that somewhere here...) - the server was updated and the new client should be released soon.
About the last error message: Try to install the ssl development package.
Once the client works again you can check if you are now already on 0.5.2.

Sen
i think that saves me some effort, earlier today [i had 5.1.1] i got an update, but the update cancled itself and wouldnt come back, and repair put me at 4.03....AGAIN
now that i know that, ima try and download 5.2
thnx
Dohmo: Please clean up your language immediately.
Me: as i just said, what i said, fits in the guidlines of rated PG, i was just explaining to the G guy
Dohmo: Sorry I tried to e nice
Dohmo: and i'm telling you to clean it up. last warning
Dohmo: now just do it
Dohmo: No more warnings

Abuse?