Author Topic: A balanced system for all  (Read 647 times)

Kiraki

• Hydlaa Resident
  • The tendancy towards chaos is a universal law
    • View Profile
A balanced system for all
« on: November 06, 2010, 03:52:30 am »

~Firstly I am referring specifically to balance when it comes to one person being able to have maxed stats, fighting, magic, everything.  This is not a debate over which of these is better than the other.

~Secondly, yes I know balancing has been discussed hundreds of times but I do not remember anything like this being mentioned before, also I am not a programmer and I don’t know how it would be implemented etc. this is the wish list and this is simply my wish explained, read it at your own risk.

In my opinion being able to max everything is completely unrealistic since no one person would ever be able to actually become a master of every little thing under the sun.
(As a side note it also becomes very unrealistic RP-wise as it makes one person feel far too powerful for their ego’s to contain and actually encourages god-modding since they seem to be under the impression that god-modding is perfectly fine for them seeing as they have everything maxed and the game mechanics allow for this.)

Anyway, there are two points that I am going to elaborate on, first the different magic ways and then balancing everything as whole.

Now, to start off I am going to use sport as an example to get everyone on the same wave length as me so that my logic will make some sense.  Most of you will probably see where this is leading anyway.

~Firstly, is it possible to play several different types of sports?  Of course it is!

~Now, is it possible to become a pro at all of these?  Highly unlikely!  The reason being the better you become at any one sport, the more time and effort you need to put into said sport to continue improving.  Thus you will start neglecting some of the others.