Author Topic: Weapon efficiency  (Read 608 times)

Tulfutzian

• Traveller
    • View Profile
Weapon efficiency
« on: September 30, 2004, 11:46:42 am »
I am very curious if a certain type of weapon would make your character more efficient in a given situation.

Is a halebard or voulge handler able to dismount a rider? Does he have penalties when faced with a swordsman?

Different types of weapons appeared through history because they became necessary, not because they looked \"cool\". The halebard is heavy, almost useless in close quarters but stunningly deadly against riders. The three edged knife is pretty unbalanced compared with the usual dagger, but it inflicts piercing wounds that do not close. With a light sword you can not parry heavy attacks, you have to dodge, but you are also quicker and more accurate.

I am no expert in weaponery but still...i think your weapon of choice should have different attack/defense numbers depending on your opponent\'s weapon.
\"I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. \"  Robert Frost

PlaneWalker

• Hydlaa Resident
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2004, 04:56:17 pm »
I would assume that those penalty will be inherent in the combat system... but yes, there should be efficient problems.

But instead of making a table for them, it could be included in stats.

Each weapons could have several stats, and also an effective range within which the weapon operates at maximum efficiency.

The weight of the weapon could also be factor in.  The heavier the weight would translate to better chance and breaking through enemy defense, but the enemy would have easier time dodging it.

Tulfutzian

• Traveller
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2004, 02:37:46 pm »