Author Topic: The Quarterstaff, Spear, and Polearm Project (aka, I Made A Stick)  (Read 2639 times)

Uadjet

• Game Masters
  • Hydlaa Citizen
    • View Profile
The Quarterstaff, Spear, and Polearm Project (aka, I Made A Stick)
« on: September 08, 2019, 12:52:18 pm »
As mentioned in game several times I'm hoping to add some weapons to the game.I'm a complete novice when it comes to graphics, so there's a bit of a learning curve involved. I'll use this thread to keep everyone up-to-date on how things are progressing. I'll be keeping this first post updated when I can with new images, so my amateurish fumblings my eventually be replaced by something nicer.  :-[

« Last Edit: October 25, 2019, 04:18:35 am by Uadjet »

Uadjet

• Game Masters
  • Hydlaa Citizen
    • View Profile
Well, the first thing I did after downloading Blender (I told you I was a novice) was to do a few tutorials. No, I'm not going to post pictures of that iced doughnut, the snowman, the anvil, or even the blend I have saved as 'psychotic rabbit'. This is a development blog, so I'm going to try and stay on topic. As much as I am able.  ::)

The first thing I did was to try and remake the quarterstaff that already exists in game.

That's pretty much it. A hexagonal cylinder with three extruded sections. You can see both of those things more clearly in a closeup.

I used this to practice some basic techniques, like keeping the extrusions sharply defined while smoothing everything else.

Now, I Must admit that I guessed wrong at what those extrusions were. I was thinking of the quarterstaff as held in the middle, so when I did basic textures I got it rather wrong.

I put steel on the ends and a leather wrap in the middle. Oops.  :-[

I'll post again shortly, this time with the new quarterstaves I'm working on. Getting a little variation in there.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2019, 02:10:34 pm by Uadjet »

Uadjet

• Game Masters
  • Hydlaa Citizen
    • View Profile