Author Topic: Useful Resources - Character Development  (Read 97 times)

Illysia

• Forum Addict
    • View Profile
Useful Resources - Character Development
« on: September 22, 2016, 04:16:56 pm »
Time to agitate the forum again. This thread is going to be a running catalog and commentary on character development tools and articles. As I find things, I will post them and give commentary. Feel free to contribute your own. You never know when an article or way of approaching the problem will speak to someone else.

The 9 Ingredients of Character Development
http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/the-9-ingredients-of-character-development

This is a Writer's Digest article which gives you the main ingreedients of character development fairly succinctly... once the author finally gets to the point:

I prefer to write plot-driven suspense thrillers. But how does the low-brow thriller writer create good characters? I’m still a novice on the subject so this is by no means a definitive exposition, just 9 ingredients I jotted down to make a clever acrostic: CHARACTER.

1. Communication style: How does your character talk? Does she favor certain words or phrases that make her distinct and interesting? What about the sound of her voice? Much of our personality comes through our speech, so think about the way your character is going to talk. Her style of communication should be distinctive and unique.

2. History: Where does your character come from? Think out his childhood and adolescence. What events shaped his personality? What did his father do for a living? How about his mother? How many siblings does he have? Was it a loving family or an abusive, dysfunctional one? What events led him to the career choices he made? You may not need to provide all this background to your reader, but it’s good to know as the writer. It helps give him substance in your mind as well.