Author Topic: I want to learn to roleplay, can anyone help me?  (Read 354 times)

Aestarel

• Traveller
  • ~Im gelir ceni ad lín~
    • View Profile
I want to learn to roleplay, can anyone help me?
« on: December 06, 2011, 01:04:35 pm »
I'm actually not a newbie, but I've never stayed long in the game. I'm starting again after a year of inactivity and this time I want to do it right so I actually stay. So I want to learn to roleplay better.
I guess I just don't really know how to start roleplays. I've done it on forums/Facebook before but always with someone else starting. But since no one is gonna do that in this situation I'm putting myself out there.  :sweatdrop:
I guess what I'm saying is, my character needs a friendly date or something of the sort. If anyone's up for that that'd be awesome.
Other than that, tips would be nice.
-An awkward RPer
Sarane Nolsir :: Dermorian
Cilean Archet :: Enkidukai

LigH

• Forum Legend
    • View Profile
Re: I want to learn to roleplay, can anyone help me?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2011, 01:29:59 pm »
Of course we will.

A lot of good advices have already been collected in the Newbies area.

The best role to play is a role you know because you built it up to a certain degree of detail.

And if you keep patiently looking around and listening to others in-game, you will have an easy start.

Gag Harmond
Knight and Ambassador
The Royal House of Purrty

Illysia

• Forum Addict
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2011, 01:40:15 pm »
I would suggest taking some time to think on the difference in what your character knows and what you as the player knows. Then work on some traits for your character... one or two will do. These two issues seem to be the first hurdles to forming RP for your character.

Example: