Author Topic: starting a server  (Read 5248 times)

theruneking

  • Wayfarer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
starting a server
« on: January 25, 2008, 01:43:22 pm »
what does it take to run a server for planeshift and how much work does it take to set one up.

Caarrie

  • Forum Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3369
  • We want no UNFIXED bugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • PlaneShift3dMods
Re: starting a server
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2008, 01:47:51 pm »

theruneking

  • Wayfarer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: starting a server
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2008, 02:20:43 pm »
im talking about like one of the main servers. how much storage do they need and connection speeds kinda things

steuben

  • Veteran
  • *
  • Posts: 1834
    • View Profile
    • Myspace
Re: starting a server
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2008, 02:44:24 pm »
Server Specs:

Intel Pentium 4 2.66GHz
Intel S845WD1-E Motherboard
1GB ECC Kingston PC2100 DDR-SDRAM
2x 80GB 7200rpm IDE Harddisks
Running on Redhat Linux 8.0

from laanx.fragnetics.com
may laanx frighten the shadow from my path.
hardly because the shadow built the lexx.
the shadow will frighten laanx from my path.

Xordan

  • Crystal Space Developer
  • Forum Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3845
  • For God and the Empire
    • View Profile
Re: starting a server
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2008, 03:27:16 pm »
(It uses fedora or ubuntu now btw)

theruneking

  • Wayfarer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: starting a server
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2008, 03:34:22 pm »
ok thx
 i was just wonderin wut it takes to run them

Velh Krome

  • Guest
Re: starting a server
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2008, 01:46:51 pm »
Greetings, since the topic roughly fits my questions to come, and I didnt want to start a new one..

Compiling and starting the server worked so far, mostly I proceeded according to Induanes Instructions (nice work, Induane, thanks). Exception was the libcal3d package I installed via dpkg instead of compiling it.

Two points though I am not sure if it is ought to be like that:
1. Characterpositions wont be stored. After logging off a client, server console shows following:
Code: [Select]
  201022) <src/server/bulkobjects/pscharacterloader.cpp:811 SaveCharacterData>
  201022) ERROR: Sector ojaroad1 could not be found in the database! Character Velh could not be saved!

2. This howto suggests to use the art and data folders from an already installed client. However, at the moment there is hardly available , like only torso armor for example.


Both points are normal? Or perhaps I committed some mistake setting up mysql?

Caarrie

  • Forum Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3369
  • We want no UNFIXED bugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • PlaneShift3dMods
Re: starting a server
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2008, 02:22:31 pm »
most art is not in the svn server that includes that the items you see on laanx, also you dont have all maps loaded in the database as it is not in svn either.

Velh Krome

  • Guest
Re: starting a server
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2008, 02:38:41 pm »
Yes Caarrie, that was stated in the howto as well, and it was said to either download, or to save bandwith and use them from an installed client - this question mainly points at me wondering why using hundreds of megabytes of artwork, if the server only will need about few dozens?
Just curious if all went well actually.

More important is to me the question about storing chars locations.

Caarrie

  • Forum Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3369
  • We want no UNFIXED bugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • PlaneShift3dMods
Re: starting a server
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2008, 02:51:24 pm »
you have to add the maps and sectors to the sectors.sql also you are downloading the art for the CLIENT not the server. the info for the server is not public.

Velh Krome

  • Guest
Re: starting a server
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2008, 03:51:06 pm »
Whats confusing then is the following:
Quote
Use the Mounts

Open the cfg file of the PS application you want to use a mount. To continue the above example, I can set the SVN build client to use the installed package's maps by editing the PlaneShift.Mount.zipmapdir line in psclient.cfg:

PlaneShift.Mount.zipmapdir = /bins/art/world/

If you wish the server and NPC client to use these as well
, modify/add that line to their cfg files too.
(link)
I would wonder why I would wish to "use the zips for the server as well", if they wouldnt work anyway (or had no use).

Quote
add the maps and sectors to the sectors.sql
So I did:
Code: [Select]
(..)
 (19,'hydlaa_plaza','N',15000,15000,10000,10000,8000,8000,5000,5000,5000,5000,4000,4000,0,'Laanx');
(..)
Code: [Select]
   63780) <src/server/bulkobjects/pscharacterloader.cpp:811 SaveCharacterData>
   63780) ERROR: Sector hydlaa_plaza could not be found in the database! Character Velh could not be saved!
I had mysql restarted after adding adding to the database. Result still the same.

Caarrie

  • Forum Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3369
  • We want no UNFIXED bugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • PlaneShift3dMods
Re: starting a server
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2008, 03:56:21 pm »
did you source sectors.sql; first? it looks right to me.

Velh Krome

  • Guest
Re: starting a server
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2008, 04:15:08 pm »
argh.. I forgot that one, but.. gosh, no, it doesnt help=/ Same error message.

Caarrie

  • Forum Addict
  • *
  • Posts: 3369
  • We want no UNFIXED bugs!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • View Profile
    • PlaneShift3dMods
Re: starting a server
« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2008, 04:48:02 pm »
try
Code: [Select]
DROP TABLE sectors;
source sectors.sql;

if that does not help after restarting psserver then i am out of ideas

Velh Krome

  • Guest
Re: starting a server
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2008, 06:23:07 pm »
I think I was too quick before.
Code: [Select]
source sectors.sql;returns error code (pastebin 1)
Since it seems to be some syntax error I am staring at the screen but  just cant see it - perhaps I am just blind?  ???
Here is my entire sectors.sql (pastebin 2)