Author Topic: Picking up random items  (Read 779 times)

0n1x

• Wayfarer
    • View Profile
Picking up random items
« on: February 27, 2021, 11:58:00 am »
Hello!

I recently started playing PlaneShift (again) and am enjoying it very much. I've been wondering the following thing about the roleplaying aspect: Is it fair/ok to pick up random items that I might find in the game? Items that don't belong to me? Or would that be considered thievery? If so, what if my character is a thief or a rogue?

To give you an example: Every now and then I might find animal parts. When I inspect them, the info box might say "Guarded by XYZ" (where XYZ is a character name). Is it ok for me to pick up these animal parts and sell them?

Another example: When I'm in mining areas, I sometimes find a piece of coal lying around. When I inspect the coal, it doesn't say that it's "guarded" by anybody. So I imagine that it would be ok to pick it up? But I'm not sure. So I wanted to check what people think...

Thanks!
0n1x

Migg

• Hydlaa Citizen
    • View Profile
Re: Picking up random items
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2021, 05:11:04 pm »
Hi 0n1x, welcome to Planeshift!

Items that say "guarded by XYZ" are locked and you will not be able to pick them up. I personally believe it is OK to pick up anything else, unless you believe it is something of value that may  belong to someone and should be returned. Then it's up to your character's alignment, a rogue or thief would certainly do away with them and have no qualms.